Municipal Profile

1. Location, Physical Characteristics of Municipality

The Municipality of Katipunan is situate& in. the northwestern side of Zamboanga del Norte. It is approximately between the altitude 8 degrees 19 minutes n9rth and longitude 123 degrees 14 minutes and 123 degrees 21 minutes east. It is bounded in the west by the municipality of Roxas, on the south by the municipality of Sergio Osmeña, on the east by the City of Dipolog and on the north by Sulu/Mindanao Sea. It is about. 719.0 kilometers South of Manila and 15.0 kilometers away from the Dipolog City.

It has a total land area of 24,412 hectares more or less and divided into thirty barangays within its political jurisdiction.

The municipality of Katipunan has a generally rugged terrain. Its barangays are situated on the top of hills except the lowland barangays of Barangay Uno, Barangay Dos, Daanglungsod, New Tambo, San Antonio, Tuburan and northern part of Dr. Jose Rizal.


2. Political Subdivision

The municipality of Katipunan is composed of 30 barangays. The two of these namely: Barangay Uno and Barangay Dos are classified as urban area, it was located in the Poblacion proper and biggest population can be accounted among these barangays.

These two barangays also served as the commercial center, where numerous business establishments can be found including the Municipal Public Market. while the rest of the barangays are classified as rural area.

The total land area is divided into thirty barangays with its jurisdiction.

These are the following:

Name of Barangay

Land Area (in has.)

1. Barangay Uno


2. Barangay Dos


3. Mias


4. Tuburan


5. Daanglungsod


6. Dr. Jose Rizal


7. Malugas     


8. Basagan


9. Nanginan


10. Biniray


11. San Antonio


12. Singatong


13. Sinuyak


14. Seres


15. Matam


16. Miatan


17. Sitog


18. Balok


19. Seroan


20. Dabiak


21. Bulawan


22. Fimagas


23. Loyuran


24. Malasay


25. Patik


26. Carupay


27. Sanao


28. San Vicente


29. New Tambo


30. Sto. Niño




3. Topography

The municipality of Katipunan is generally rugged. Most of its barangays is situated on top of hills except the following area namely: Barangay Uno, Barangay Dos, Dr. Jose Rizal, San Antonio, New Tambo, and Tuburan which are situated in depressed and lowland area of this municipality. It was stripped by two big rivers that serve as the main drainage of water during heavy down pour of rain. These are the Lubungan and Dicayo rivers. The shoreline stretches to about five kilometers from the boundary of Dipolog City to the boundary of the municipality of Pres. Manuel A. Roxas. Along this coastline that embraces the water territory of this municipality are natural depths that could be utilized and developed. These are located at San Antonio and Minang near the boundary of the municipality of Pres. Manuel A. Roxas.


4. Climate

The municipality of Katipunan belongs to the fourth type of climate. It is mild and moderate; it has two distinct seasons the dry and rainy. Dry season usually starts in the month of January and ends either on April or May. This is the second cropping and harvest season of our farmers and this was called “PANGULILANG” where drought and fewer rainfalls may be experienced. Rainy season usually starts either on May or June and ends on the month of December. This is the first cropping and harvest season of our farmers and this was called “PANUIG” where abundant harvest of rice crop may be experienced due to sufficient water supply.


5. Soil Classification and Uses

As per record verified from the Bureau of Soils, the soil of municipality of Katipunan has been classified into five types. These are Dohinob clay, San Manuel sandy loam, Mandawe clay, Mountain soils and Beach sand.


Table 1: Classified Soil Types, Location & Suitability of Crops for Cultivation
Municipality of Katipunan




1. Dohinob Clay

Nanginan, Biniray, Dr. Jose Rizal, part of Basagan, Singatong, Sinuyak, Matam, Seres, Sitog, Bulawan, Malasay, Balok, Seroan, and a part of Dabiak

Upland Rice, corn, root crops, permanent/perennial crops.

2. San  Manuel Sandy Loam    

Poblacion Uno & Dos, part of Tuburan, Northern part of Dr. Jose Rizal, San Antonio,   

Daanglungsod, and a part of Basagan.

Lowland rice, corn, vegetables and

Root crops.

3. Mandawe Clay

Part of Tuburan, part of Malugas

Lowland rice,  corn, and vegetables

4. Mountain Soils

Fimagas, part of Dabiak, part

of Seroan.

Forest trees

5. Beach Sand

All along the beach